de

Jungle Porcelain

The two-piece porcelain tableware Jungle Porcelain (Item 2316-2322) was designed together by Uli Aigner and me, and produced by Uli Aigner within the framework of her project ONE MILLION. My experiences, which I gained between 2010 and 2016 in daily life on Borneo, in the highlands, played a major role in the design.

Details
Porcelain. Plates approx. 30-35 cm; plate supports approx. 12 x 15 cm

Uli Aigner's project ONE MILLION, which began in 2014, is her artistic examination of how to counteract globalization. In an ongoing process, she wants to produce about one million pieces of porcelain tableware by hand over a long period of time. Each piece will be produced in collaboration with its user.

Jungle Porcelain (2017) consists of robust multi-purpose objects. A cylinder, which serves as a plate support, can later be used as a lantern. It shows the engraved form of a bush knife and several animal traps which I have come to see as essential for survival in the jungle.

I have not lived in Sarawak since 2017 - Uli Aigner and I have re-enacted the situation in Berlin for our contribution to ROAR. Our interaction was documented by the filmmaker Michal Kosakowski.

Cookies?

en

Jungle Porcelain

Das zweiteilige Porzellangeschirr Jungle Porcelain (Item 2316-2322) wurde von Uli Aigner und mir gemeinsam konzipiert, und von Uli Aigner im Rahmen ihres Projektes ONE MILLION produziert. Meine Erfahrungen, die ich zwischen 2010 und 2016 im täglichen Leben auf Borneo, im -Hochland, sammelte, spielten bei der Konzeption eine wesentliche Rolle.

Details
Porzellan. Teller ca. 30-35 cm; Tellerstützen ca. 12 x 15 cm.

Uli Aigners Projekt ONE MILLION, das 2014 begann, ist ihre künstlerische Auseinandersetzung, der Globalisierung zu begegnen. In einem laufenden Prozess will sie über einen langen Zeitraum hinweg etwa eine Million Teile Porzellangeschirr von Hand herstellen. Jedes Stück wird in Zusammenarbeit mit seiner Benutzer*in entworfen.

Jungle Porcelain (2017) besteht aus robusten Mehrzweckgegenständen. Ein Zylinder, der als Tellerauflage dient, kann später als Laterne verwendet werden. Er zeigt die eingravierte Form eines Buschmessers und mehrere Tierfallen, die ich als überlebenswichtig für den Dschungel kennengelernt habe.

Seit 2017 lebe ich nicht mehr in Sarawak - Uli Aigner und ich haben die Interaktion für unseren Beitrag zur Publikation ROAR in Berlin nachgestellt, wobei unsere Interaktion von dem Filmemacher Michal Kosakowski dokumentiert wurde.

This website uses cookies. Accept?