de
trans-parent (Jacopo de' Barbari: 'Ritratto di Fra Luca Pacioli e Giovane ignoto') © 1996 Angelika Boeck, photograph: Wilfried Petzi

trans-parent (Jacopo de' Barbari)

For the trans-parent series, I used technology to record the eye movements that occurred within a minute of looking at Renaissance paintings - this is based on the painting 'Ritratto di Fra Luca Pacioli e Giovane ignoto' (1495), attributed to Jacopo de' Barbari.

Details
Photo reproduction, eye drawing, glass sandblasted, steel holder 100 x 80 x 8 cm

Wherever the gaze hit an image, the lines of sight and points are marked on a frosted glass plate as a transparent trace that reflects the eye movements. The sand-blasted glass plates were mounted over the respective paintings so that the structure of the lines of sight overlaps the painting structure.

The central theme of all works is that the perceiving organ is also the executing organ; that observation and representation merge into one another without taking the detour via the artist's intervention.

Accept cookies?

en
'trans-parent' (Jacopo de' Barbari: 'Ritratto di Fra Luca Pacioli e Giovane ignoto') © 1996 Angelika Boeck, Foto: Wilfried Petzi

trans-parent (Jacopo de' Barbari)

Für die trans-parent-Serie zeichnete ich die Augenbewegungen per -Technologie auf, die innerhalb einer Minute beim Betrachten von Renaissance-Gemälden entstanden – dieses auf der Grundlage des Gemäldes 'Ritratto di Fra Luca Pacioli e Giovane ignoto' (1495), das Jacopo de' Barbari zugeschrieben wird.

Details
Fotoreproduktion, Augenzeichnung, Glas sandgestrahlt, Stahlhalterung 100 x 80 x 8 cm

Überall, wo der Blick ein Bild traf, sind die Sichtlinien und Punkte auf einer Milchglasplatte als durchsichtige Spur markiert, die die Augenbewegungen wiedergeben. Die sandgestrahlten Glasplatten wurden über die jeweiligen Bilder montiert, sodass die Struktur der Sichtlinien den Gemäldeaufbau überlagert.

Zentrales Thema bei allen -Arbeiten ist, dass das wahrnehmende Organ zugleich das ausführende ist; dass Betrachtung und Darstellung ineinander übergehen ohne den Umweg über den Eingriff der Künstlerin zu nehmen.

This website uses cookies. Accept?